My Mind Map

Learning is an ongoing process. One never ceases to learn. We learn through personal experiences, reading, continuous education, socialization, and training. As an educator, I experience the learning process throughout each day. I study the learning process of the children I teach and how each student learns best. I cannot service each student individually, however, I can implement strategies that will work best for majority of the students and work with others in small learning groups. My job requires continuous education, professional training, and it involves me seeking information to improve learning.

 

Much of my training for my job involves professional development on PD360, webinars, Discovery Education, and Workshops. PD360 is a professional development website for educators that consist of a database of video trainings. I am able to log on at any time to find solutions to any questions relating to trends in education and best practices of educators. Discovery Education is a website designed for creating class assessments, progress monitoring, and providing video tutorial for students and teachers. My students can take test online and watch videos related to the skill taught.  The district provides weekly workshops for all teachers. I watch webinars for creative ideas to implement in my lessons.

 

Although I learn a great deal through educators network systems, I learn more from colleagues on social network. I we share ideas and photos of classroom experiences. Many of my FaceBook friends are teachers in the surrounding area. They often visit my page for ideas. It’s a great feeling knowing you can help other educators, but even better when I find ideas on their page that I can use.

 

Learning is not always centered around my job. I’m constantly learning to be more responsible and fulfilling through life experiences and my career. I’m learning how to work with others and practicing leadership skills. Although I dreamed of becoming an educator when I was, somehow I cannot see myself being in the classroom until retirement. I now dream of doing something so much more fulfilling. I enrolled in Walden’s Instructional Design Technology program in hope of making a career change.

At the moment the network I use most is Discovery Education. Although I’m seeking a career change, I am yet dedicated to my current placement in the education world.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment